Live-tweeting an Event

My live-tweeting an event went surprisingly well. I attended the women’s basketball game on Wednesday, November 14 at 8pm. The buckeyes had a huge victory over Cincinnati. I like to watch and go to basketball games so it did not even seem like an assignment. It was easy for me to log onto twitter periodically and make a tweet about what I was watching. The thought came to me how impossible this would be without a smart phone. I feel like in this day and age people are expected to do everything at the drop of a hat. It is assumed we have smart phones that allow us to do anything and everything via the Internet. I felt better about live-tweeting an event than I did about the in-class twitter assignment. I felt with a live speaker it came off as a little rude and as if none of the class was listening. Tweeting a live-event was less awkward, especially due to the fact there were thousands of people all around me.  I think it works best at an event where it is highly populated and a lot of action is going on. It was very loud during the game so I was not distracting anyone while I was tweeting. I think in an event with less people, no activity and no noise it would have the potential to be get uncomfortable. At times throughout the game I would get lost in watching and forget that I needed to tweet. I noticed with my tweets in the first half I was much more active than in the second half. I think the deeper into the game I just forgot to make updates. I found that there were many people who were also making tweet sporadically during the game.  I received an email a few hours after the game ended saying that one of the players favorited my tweet. That was pretty cool and it made me feel good that she saw my shout out to her.

The tweet was “@Miss_Nubie4 is tearing it up. 1,400 career points, not too bad #B1Gwbb”

@Miss_Nubie 4 is Tayler Hill, a#4 senior point guard from Minneapolis. She is one of the buckeye’s key players and it was awesome that she favorited one of my tweets.

The @OhioState_wbb did an excellent job updating their twitter feed during the game. I’m glad that I follow them now so I can get updates even when I cannot physically watch the game or even be home to watch it on TV. I have a feeling they delegate a certain person to tweet during the whole game. They had stats and information that would be useful to any fan.

Overall, I did enjoy my assignment for live-tweeting an event. I feel like it is something that many of us do without even realizing it. I think I did tweet more than I would have normally during an event, keeping in mind that it was for a graded assignment. I think it was nice practice for real world application.

Image

One thought on “Live-tweeting an Event

  1. I think that at a basketball game or any other event where there are many people in attendance, live tweeting is perfectly acceptable and appropriate. I have a problem, similar to what you have said, when people are tweeting during an event in which a speaker is trying to hold the attention of its audience. Specifically in a small setting, I believe that it is very rude for someone to be on their phone. The event I attended for the live tweet assignment was a meeting about a specific study abroad opportunity to Italy during Maymester. I felt very strange to pull my phone out and begin tweeting when the speaker was ten feet in front of me and making direct eye contact. I decided to wait until after the event was over for me to tweet my thoughts on the event.

Leave a Reply

